Rougham C of E Primary School Inspire to achieve
Log in


At Rougham School we provide a broad, balanced, and exciting curriculum. We give meaning to learning through a thematic, topic-based curriculum.  We strongly believe that children learn best through engagement in real-life, practical experiences where links between learning can be made. 


Great value is placed on high quality learning environments which include not just classrooms but our shared areas, library and hall. Our gardens, environmental area and local area are also invaluable resources and enable us to provide enrichment and creative activities.



As well as the national curriculum, all children are taught RE in a weekly lesson.  In our lessons we learn about and learn from Christianity and other religions.  We learn about their beliefs and practices and link these to our personal values.  Our RE is based on the Suffolk Diocean Board of Education scheme of work where themes and Religions follow a rolling programme.


Early years foundation stage

This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.  These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development;
  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. In Willow Class the teacher and support staff will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

At the end of the EYFS – in the summer term of the reception year in school – teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS Profile. This assessment is carried out by the reception teacher and is based on what they, and other staff caring for your child, have observed over a period of time.

The school will give you a report of your child’s progress, including information from his or her EYFS Profile.


Read Write Inc. is the name of the phonics scheme used in KS1.


The National Curriculum sets out what the children should be taught from Year 1 onwards.  Recent changes made to the Primary National Curriculum were implemented in September 2014 in Years 1, 3, 4 and 5, and in 2015 in Years 2 and 6.


The National Curriculum is divided into two Key Stages:

Key Stage One (KS1)  - Year 1 and 2

Key Stage Two (KS2) – Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

The National Curriculum can be accessed by parents/carers by following the links below - 


We value the diversity of individuals within the school. All children have equal access to the curriculum and are treated fairly regardless of race, religion or abilities.


For more details about each class’ individual curriculum please refer to the class pages.